How to set up conversion value reporting to Google ads
Sending install, subscribe, and payment conversion events and values to Google ads allows you to harness Google’s powerful machine learning algorithms for exceptional ROI on your Google ads spend.
We'd love to help you set up Conversion Value Reporting and a Maximize Conversion Value campaign in Google Ads. Schedule a FREE Google Ads setup call
Note: You must be subscribed to Prys Premium or on a free trial. Check your status
Steps to set up conversion reporting to Google ads:
- Select which conversions to send and how to value them
- Update your Conversion Value Reporting Google sheet with the past 90 days of data
- Upload your Google sheet to Google Ads and set an updating schedule
- Create purchase conversion and source in Google ads
- Create subscribe conversion and source in Google ads
- Create install conversion and source in Google ads and finish
General rules for conversions and values:
- We send three conversion types:
- Install - The merchant approves permissions and clicks install. Shopify sends an install event.
- Subscribe - The merchant approves payment and (usually) starts a free trial. Shopify sends a subscription event
- Paying - The merchant pays you. Shopify sends a payment event
- We measure values in the following manner:
- LTV=ARPU/churn
- We calculate the value per conversion type by multiplying its conversion rate from the event to a paying customer with the value of a paying customer. For example, if 1 in 10 installs for a specific keyword converts to a paying customer and LTV is $100, the value of an install is 0.1*$100=$10
We only send one event type per Google click ID (GCLID) - We update the sheet daily with the latest conversions attributed to Google ads. Latest updates are always for the day before yesterday
- The sum of event values sent cannot exceed a customer’s lifetime value. Therefore, each event is sent net of the prior events’ values. If the install value is $30, subscribe $50, and paying $100, $30 will be sent for the install conversion, $20 for the subscribe conversion($50-$30), and $50 for the paying conversion ($100-$20-$30)
- In line with Google’s suggestions, we send data for 48 hrs. It means there are always duplicates and you may see duplicate errors in Google ads - which you can ignore
1. Select which conversions to send and how to value them
Go to the conversion value reporting page
A) Turn on to send conversions and values. You can decide which conversion types - install, subscribe, payment - to send, but we advise sending all three types of conversions to maximize data points for Google Ads AI
B) Select send average value to send the average conversion value for each conversion type regardless of the keyword or Campaign clicked on. Eg- subscribe conversion for keyword A will have the same value as subscribe conversion for keyword 2.
C) Select send value/keyword to send the keyword’s conversion value for each conversion type specific to the keyword. Eg- subscribe event will probably have a different value between keywords 1 and 2. We recommend this setting as it provides the most precise data available. Two caveats: 1. If a conversion type has no value for a specific keyword, we send the average value for the conversion type, 2. To prevent extremes, we cap the value for each conversion at 2x the average value for the conversion type.
D) Select send custom value to send custom values you can set for each conversion type.
E) After you select conversion events and values, the Send to Google Sheets button will be enabled. Click to update the Google sheet with your inputs. If you change your settings, click the button to update the sheet.
2. Update your Conversion Value Reporting Google sheet with past 90 days of data
A) If you’ve been running Google ads in the past 3 months, you an use that data to feed Google’s AI and get a running start. Click to update data for 90 days before connecting to Google ads.
3. Upload your Google sheet to Google Ads and set an updating schedule
A) Click Goals
B) Click Uploads
C) Click on the +
D) Select Google Sheets
E) Click Link an existing Google Sheet
F) Select Shared with me
G) Find the file with your Google ads conversions
H) Click Insert
I) Click Apply
J) Select Schedules
K) Click the +
L) Select Google sheets
M) Choose your sheet with conversions
N) Select Every 24 hrs
O) Set 1:00 AM (best in your Google Analytics timezone)
P) Click Save & Preview.
4. Create purchase conversion and source in Google ads
A) Click Goals on the left menu
B) Choose Summary from the menu that opens
C) click on the New conversion action button on the right
D) Select Import
E) Choose CRMs files, or other data sources and select Track conversions from clicks
F) Choose Connect a new data source
G) Click on Google Sheets
H) Select Direct connection
I) Check checkbox
J) Click Continue
K) Scroll down in the selector and choose Purchase
L) Click the Set up button
M) Google sheet should appear
N) click Next
O) sign in with Google OAuth. If you have multiple users, sign in with the user you use for your internet browser, as that’s where you’ll find the Google sheet shared with y
P) Click Browse and select the file called <Your app’s name> Google ads conversions
Q) Click Next at the bottom of the page
R) Match fields (no need to match the order_id field)
S) Click Next at the bottom of the page
T) Click Edit Schedule and set the daily run at 01:00-02:00 your timezone
U) Click Finish
V) Click Settings
W) Select Primary action
X) Write “paying” (in small letters. Make sure there’s no typo)
Y) Select Use a different value for each conversion
Z) Select US dollars
AA) Select One
AB) Leave defaults - No changes here
AC) Click Done
5. Create subscribe conversion and source in Google ads
A) Click Add another conversion category,
B) Select Subscribe
C) Select Google Sheets
D) Click Add an event to this category and choose Google Sheets
E) Click Next
F) Login to Google
G) Click Browse and select the file called <Your app’s name> Google ads conversions
H) Click Next at the bottom of the page
I) Match fields
J) Click Next at the bottom of the page
K) Click Edit Schedule and set the daily run at 01:00-02:00 your timezone
L) Click Finish
M) Click Settings
N) Select Primary action
O) Write “subscribe” (in small letters. Make sure there’s no typo)
P) Select Use different values for each conversion
Q) Select US dollars
R) Select One
S) Leave defaults - No changes here
T) Click Done
6. Create install conversion and source in Google ads
A) Click Add another conversion category,
B) Select Sign up
C) Select Google Sheets
D) Click Add an event to this category and choose Google Sheets
E) Click Next
F) Login to Google
G) Click Browse and select the file called <Your app’s name> Google ads conversions
H) Click Next at the bottom of the page
I) Match fields
J) Click Next at the bottom of the page
K) Click Edit Schedule and set the daily run at 01:00-02:00 your timezone
L) Click Finish
M) Click Settings
N) Select Primary action
O) Write “install” (in small letters. Make sure there’s no typo)
P) Select Use different values for each conversion
Q) Select US dollars,
R) Select One
S) Leave defaults - No changes here
T) Click Done
U) Click Save and Continue
V) Click Finish. You are done!